Steering Committee

The purpose of the IH/OS SIG Steering Committee is to select and coordinate the activities of the SIG. The IH/OS SIG Steering Committee will represent the DOE complex as much as possible and ensures that all perspectives of occupational health and safety are considered.

Separating Line

Steering Committee Members

Will Artley, SIG Coordinator
Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Moises Atiles
Department of Energy - Savannah River Site

James Buckner
Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Cindy Casalina
Department of Energy - NNSA Livermore Field Office

Walter Czekaj
Waste Isolation Pilot Plant

Clay Davis
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Julie Hanebuth
Argonne National Laboratory

Robin Keeler, Doe Advisor
DOE Office of Worker Safety and Health Policy

Austin Ratley
Savannah River Site

Cindy Lee Saban
Department of Energy - Savannah River Operations Office

Dina Siegel
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Kayla Thomas
Kansas City National Security Campus

Robert Utesch
Argonne National Laboratory

Robert Weeks, SIG Chair
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Ryan Williamson
Savannah River Site

Separating Line

Steering Committee Responsibilities & Guidelines


IH/OS SIG Steering Committee members assume the following responsibilities:

  • Obtain support from their management to participate in IH/OS SIG Steering Committee activities.
  • Perform activities which allow the IH/OS SIG to fulfill its mission and purpose.
  • Participate in Steering Committee conference call meetings as time will permit. Most events occur through conference call meetings. Normally Steering Committee Conference Calls occur every 4 – 6 weeks for about 1 hour. Members are also encouraged to participate either through conference call format or attend in person the annual DOE and DOE Contractors Industrial Hygiene Meeting.
  • Present on safety and/or health topics of interest during regular Steering Committee Conference Call meetings.
  • Provide input on special interest group activities.
  • Ensure that their site is aware of the IH/OS SIG safety and health resources on the SIG Website.


General guidelines include:

  • The Steering Committee membership should consist of DOE, DOE contractor, and labor union personnel, representing various contractors, disciplines, functions, and facility types (e.g., R&D, weapons, reprocessing, reactors, accelerators). Steering Committee members have primary responsibility for industrial hygiene or occupational safety within their organizations.
  • Permanent members of the Steering Committee include IH/OS SIG DOE Advisors/Sponsors and the IH/OS SIG Coordinator. All other Steering Committee members are appointed to three-year terms through an election process.
  • The goal of the Steering Committee is to have 21 members, as represented below:
    • 15 Contractor representatives
    • 3 DOE Operations/Field/Site Office Representative
    • 2 DOE Advisors (contingent on number of DOE Sponsoring Offices)
    • 1 IH/OS SIG Coordinator
  • The Steering Committee should include a Chair position.
  • All Steering Committee members, including the Sponsors and the SIG Coordinator, are voting members. Decisions shall be determined by majority vote.
  • Steering Committee members who are unable to fulfill their term may name a replacement from their facility to complete the term.
  • Upon completion of a term, Steering Committee members are eligible to submit a nomination form for consideration for an additional term as a Steering Committee member.
Separating Line

Chair Responsibilities, Guidelines, and Appointment Terms


The IH/OS SIG Chair will assume the following responsibilities:

  • Promote the IH/OS SIG within the DOE community.
  • Represent the IH/OS SIG to his/her facility.
  • Coordinate closely with the IH/OS SIG Coordinator.
  • Provide leadership in sharing resources and seeking new resources to share throughout the SIG network and Website.
  • Participate in and chair SIG Steering Committee meetings, including conference calls.
  • Meet as needed with SIG Coordinator and DOE SIG Sponsors/Advisors.
  • Monitor activities/events of IH/OS SIG task forces/teams.

Guidelines and Appointment Terms

The Steering Committee includes a Chair position. The Chair will serve three years as the Chair.


« Return to About IH/OS SIG

Scroll to Top

These pages were developed under contract number DE-AC05-06OR23100 between Oak Ridge Associated Universities and the U.S. Department of Energy. For more information contact Will Artley, IH/OS SIG Coordinator, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, PO Box 117, MS 10, Oak Ridge, TN 37831-0117.

Provision of this Web site by the Oak Ridge Associated Universities/Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORAU/ORISE) does not constitute endorsement of the views expressed or an endorsement or recommendation of specific commercial products, processes, services, manufacturers, or companies mentioned. The opinions and conclusions expressed are those of the authors and not necessarily those of ORAU/ORISE or the IH/OS SIG and their DOE sponsor, DOE AU-11.

The U. S. Government, DOE, or its contractors, including ORAU/ORISE or the IH/OS SIG do not warrant or assume legal responsibility for the completeness and accuracy of the information and data presented on this Web site. Some links are provided to Web sites outside of this site and should not be considered as an official endorsement or verification of the accuracy of their content. Users are subject to the privacy policies of those sites.