Skip to main content

ORAU MSI Research Council

ORAU and MSI Research Council to develop a strategic plan for advancing research and education capabilities at these institutions

Minority Serving Institutions are institutions of higher education that serve minority populations. These institutions are as diverse as the populations they serve. Some are located in remote regions of the country, while others serve urban neighborhoods. Newer colleges and universities may be a few decades old, while others have been serving students for 100 years or longer.

All MSI institutions have one thing in common: a mission to provide their students with the social and educational skills needed to overcome racial discrimination and limited economic opportunities.

MSIs are sources of untapped talent, where highly educated, sought-after scientific minds are available for opportunities that will launch their science, technology, engineering or mathematics careers.

ORAU places a high priority on fostering relationships between MSIs and federal government agencies across the country, so that the best and brightest are part of advancing the nation’s science, education, workforce development and health priorities.

The MSI Research Council (MRC) is a subcommittee of the ORAU Council of Sponsoring Institutions and represents a core group of ORAU’s University Consortium. The purpose of the MRC is to establish a strategic plan for advancing the research and education capabilities of the MRC members and to develop a model framework for leading partnerships of excellence.

  • The MRC will:

    • Conduct a research readiness assessment.
    • Develop a research priority list.
    • Convene at least three times each calendar year.
    • Appoint project teams and leads for each research priority.
    • Identify collaborative funding opportunities.
    • Focus on early- and mid-career research faculty.
    • Increase member applications for ORAU funding opportunities including: ODRD, Event Sponsorship, and Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Program.
    • Develop a differentiated research framework that maps institutional research capacity with national research priorities.
    • Better knowledge and awareness of ORAU member programs and ORAU S&T business lines.
    • Position papers on best practices in engaging MSIs in federally funded research.
    • Encourage community-based research opportunities, e.g., disparities in minority health.
    • Promote scientific, peer-reviewed publications under the MRC brand.
    • Generate extramural research funding thru collaborative efforts.
    • Increase Powe junior faculty awards to HBCU/HSI faculty.
    • Increase MSI policy advocacy at federal agencies.
    • Promote webinars and podcasts to showcase MRC initiatives and results.
  • Deliverables include:

    • Appoint new chair and co-chair
    • Schedule MRC convening dates
    • Research readiness data project
    • Publications and collaborative proposals
    • Develop research priority list
    • Organize project teams and identify team leads

    Milestones include:

    • (mid) December – Announce new chair and co-chair
    • (mid) January – Host virtual meeting
    • (mid) January – Research readiness report
    • (mid) January – Assign project teams and team leads
    • (late) March – Quarterly report out for each project team

MSI Research Council Member Institutions

  • Below is a list of the MSI Research Council members and the designated ORAU Councilor.

    Institution Councilor
    Alabama A&M University Lloyd T. Walker
    Arizona State University Matt Hulver
    CUNY City College (City College of New York) Rosemarie Wesson
    Clark Atlanta University De Lisa A. Wilson
    Fayetteville State University Arthur L. Evelyn
    Florida A&M University Charles Weatherford
    Florida Atlantic University Daniel C. Flynn
    Florida International University Andres G. Gil
    Howard University Anthony K. Wutoh
    Jackson State University Joseph A. Whittaker
    Johnson C. Smith University Terik Tidwell
    Marymount University Rita Wong
    Meharry Medical College Anil Shanker
    North Carolina A&T State University Eric R. Muth
    South Carolina State University Elbert R. Malone
    Southern University and A&M College Michael A. Stubblefield
    Spelman College Sharon L. Davies
    Tennessee State University Frances Williams
    Texas A&M University-Kingsville Mohammad S. Alam
    Texas Tech University Joseph A. Heppert
    Tuskegee University Shaik Jeelani
    University of Central Florida Winston Schoenfeld
    University of Houston Claudia Neuhauser
    University of Maryland-Baltimore County Don Engel
    University of Maryland, Eastern Shore Ali B. Ishaque
    University of New Mexico Ellen Fisher
    University of North Texas Pamela Padilla
    University of Texas at Arlington Kate Miller
    University of Texas at El Paso Stephen B. Aley
    University of Texas at San Antonio Jaclyn Shaw
    University of Texas Permian Basin Rajalingam Dakshinamurthy
    University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Karen Martirosyan
    University of the District of Columbia Victor McCrary

MSI Research Council Steering Committee

  • Dr. Daniela Radu, Florida International University (chair)

Contact us

To learn more about ORAU's University Partnership programs, contact us at 865.576.6513 or